Local Authorities

Local Authorities have been formed to achieve integration and ensure the involvement of remote communities in the system of Local Government.

Local Authorities are run in accordance to the provisions of the Local Government Act.

Roper Gulf Regional Council has adopted the Local Authority Policy that will ensure Local Authorities established within the boundary of the Council’s Local Government area:

  • Provide advice to the Council on service delivery plans, including infrastructure requirements for communities and associated outstations, or local region or wards, and to contribute to the development of Council’s annual Regional Plans;
  • Alert and advise the Council on new and emerging issues within the scope of Council
  • Advise on specific Council, community and social projects that impact on the community or region;
  • Advise and support Council staff in the local implementation of the Regional Plan,
    particularly in the area of cross-cultural best practice in governance and service delivery; and
  • Respond to identified community needs, if appropriate, by participating in and organising
    activities such as community events, youth, community safety, housing advice and
    community planning and infrastructure development.

Click here to download a PDF copy of the 2016 Roper Gulf Regional Council handbook for Local Authority Members.

Composition of Local Authorities

A Local Authority is made up of the people who live in a community, as they reflect the people who live in that community or local region, and are selected on the basis of their capacity to contribute to the effective functioning of the committee. The involvement of young people is encouraged.

The membership of a Local Authority includes community members, Ward Councillors and the Mayor of Roper Gulf Regional Council.

The number of Members that Local Authority should have is a minimum of six and a maximum of 14.

Local Authority Member allowances

Under the Local Government Act, Local Authority Members are entitled to the following allowance for attending a Local Authority Meeting where a quorum is reached:

  • Local Authority Members: $123 per meeting
  • Chairperson of the Local Authority Meeting (must be a Local Authority Member): $164 per meeting

Local Authority Members are subject to Roper Gulf Regional Council’s Members’ Code of Conduct and Member Disciplinary Policy.

Request to attend a Local Authority Meeting

Agendas are set seven days prior to a Local Authority Meeting date and are available on the Roper Gulf Regional Council website and community notice board, or you can ask at any Council office for a copy.

Northern Territory Government agencies can request to attend a Local Authority Meeting by liaising with the Local Authority Co-ordination Unit, which can be contacted on 08 8924 3644.

The agency will then be required to fill in a Request to Attend a Local Authority Meeting Form and email it to local.authorities@nt.gov.au.

Non-Northern Territory Government agencies and stakeholders are required to submit their request to attend at least 10 days before the Local Authority Meeting by emailing Roper Gulf Regional Council’s Local Authority Co-ordination Officer at roper.governance@ropergulf.nt.gov.au.

When submitting the request, the agency or stakeholder should include information about the actions or recommendations expected from the Local Authority, communication materials planned, relevant time frames, equipment requirements and the number of visitors attending.

Roper Gulf Regional Council Local Authority boundaries

Local Authorities within the Roper Gulf Regional Council Local Government area are located in Barunga, Beswick, Borroloola, Bulman, Jilkminggan, Mataranka, Manyallaluk, Minyerri, Ngukurr and Numbulwar.

While primarily representing the nominal towns, the Local Authorities will also represent other small towns and communities. These may be outstations, pastoral leases or other places nearby, or adjacent areas that do not have a Local Authority.

Each Local Authority is located in a town that has a Roper Gulf Regional Council office, and the meetings will take place in these towns. These are often towns servicing a relatively large catchment area, and are higher on the central place rating. Large areas, while incorporated within the Regional Council boundary set in 2008, are unoccupied or only occasionally occupied.

At this stage, formal boundaries for Local Authority catchments are not needed, but for the purpose of defining the areas of Local Authority responsibility and catchments, the following areas have been recommended.

The Barunga Local Authority will represent the towns of Barunga and Maranboy. The boundaries will be west to the Council boundary, south to the Stuart Highway and the boundary of the Never Never and Nyirranggulung Wards, and east to a point halfway between Barunga and Beswick. The service area will include the broader Jawyon area.

The Beswick Local Authority will represent the Beswick town area and all areas west to a north-south line continuing along the boundary of the Manyallaluk Aboriginal Trust Land and the Beswick Aboriginal Land Trust, east to the western boundary of the Goondooloo pastoral lease, and north to the east-west boundary of the Manyallaluk Aboriginal Land Trust and the southern boundary of Mountain Valley pastoral lease.

The Borroloola Local Authority will represent the towns of Borroloola, Robinson River, King Ash Bay, Macarthur River, Cape Crawford and the islands of the Sir Edward Pellow group, and outstations and pastoral leases within the South West Gulf Ward boundary.

The Bulman Local Authority will include the towns of Bulman and Weemol, and all outstations in the north-eastern region of the Nyirranggulung Ward and southern end of the Arnhem Land Aboriginal Land Trust, including Mt Catt, Momob and Emu Spring, and includes the Mainoru, Wongalara and Mountain Valley pastoral leases.

The Jilkminggan Local Authority will represent the town of Jilkminggan and all outstations, including Elsey Station, within the Mangarrayi Aboriginal Land Trust.

The Manyallaluk Local Authority will represent the town of Manyallaluk and other places within the Manyallaluk Aboriginal Land Trust Boundary and immediate area.

The Mataranka Local Authority will represent the town of Mataranka and Mulgan Camp. The Mataranka Local Authority will also represent Larrimah, Daly Waters and Dunmarra, and pastoral leases west of the Stuart Highway to the Council boundary, and south-east of the highway from Larrimah to the Council boundary, and east to the South West Gulf Ward boundary, excluding the Alawa Aboriginal Trust.

The Minyerri Local Authority will represent the town of Minyerri and outstations and places within the Alawa Aboriginal Land Trust.

The Ngukurr Local Authority will represent the towns of Ngukurr, Urapunga and Roper Bar, and the outstations encompassed within the Yugul Mangi Ward.

The Numbulwar Local Authority will represent Numbulwar and outstations within the Numbulwar Numburindi Ward.

The above boundary recommendations still leave some areas without formal access to a Local Authority. In particular are the areas in the north-west corner of the Council boundary, and the pastoral lease area north of the Roper Valley, east of Jilkminggan, including Mole Hill and several small outstations. This area could well come within the Jilkminggan or Ngukurr Local Authority areas and has the commonality of having the Roper Highway running though it.